Everyday Superheroes

 

Written by: Erin Twamley and Joshua Sneideman.

Published by: Wise Ink Creative Publishing

This book is an encyclopedia of super STEM women around the world, defying limits and scaling new heights each day with their incredible work and contributions. They are the women that are striving to make the world a better place working hard to make our communities "safer, cleaner and healthier every day”.

 

Endearingly alphabetized from A to Z, this power pack of a book profiles the careers and superpowers of our Everyday STEM superheroes. It defines the 6 STEM superpowers of observation, imagination and curiosity, problem solving, collaboration, data collection, analysis and communication. With the most charming character illustrations of these astoundingly incredible women, this book is a keeper for your littles as they grow to discover and identify their own unique interests, strengths and passions.   

 

We at Snuggly Apps believe in empowering and uplifting our kids to recognize their unique strengths and potentials, stretching their abilities to become the best versions of themselves. This book about astounding and inspiring female trail blazers deserves a place on every library, classroom and home bookshelf for it is enlightening and truly inspirational for not just our little ones but for us as parents and for our families just as well. 


Grab your copy here

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: April 28, 2021

image_2021-04-27_233046.png
 

Safe in Starry Arms

Written by: Christie Lea

Art by: Di

This book is about facing your fears head on and confronting the chaos that resides in our minds, holding our bodies hostage to our morbid thoughts. Anxiety, fear of the unknown and bottomless sadness keep so many of us up at night. Kids are no different. This book touches this topic with utmost love and tender affection.

 

This book is about finding inner calm and appeasing the chaos that lives inside of us by connecting with nature and finding ourselves in it. The main character of the book, Nicholas embarks on a journey to search himself in the exquisite and dazzling beauty of nature that surrounds him. He finds a part of himself in the “water sitting in a glass with sun beams through it like a flash of lightning as it lunges from a cloud. Nic is the photon, carbon, and the sound”. The author’s lyrical prose and utterly descriptive and evocative language paired with graphic imagery and exquisite illustrations transport the reader to the world of Nic’s thoughts that pervade his mind at night.

 

The author’s literary genius is evident in her brilliant word play. With this book, we are made aware of the importance of mental health in children and we at Snuggly Apps are thrilled to be a part of this profoundly beautiful message to children to encourage them to tune into the deepest corners within themselves to find meaning in the turbulent thoughts and feelings inside of them. To encourage self awareness to eventually conquer their darkest thoughts and find purpose in their lives and their existence by seeing a part of themselves reflected in every thread and fabric of the nature that surrounds them. 

 

Grab your copy here 

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: April 28, 2021

image_2021-04-27_231618.png
 

On The Way I Love You

Written by: Hillary J. Lee

This is such a sweet and charming book that captures the essence of motherhood and the multifaceted, indescribable love of a mother for her children. With its beautiful rhyming prose and sing-along text paired with endearing and delightful illustrations, this book will make a great bedtime read for your little ones to make them feel secure and deeply loved.

 

Be ready for lots of hugs, kisses and snuggles from your little ones after reading this book. It conveys a mother’s love for her children in the simplest of ways by expressing it using analogies that kids can relate with “Oh, the Way I love you. It’s like Music to my soul” A mother’s love in its full magnificent glory, depth and strength is unparalleled and immeasurable like nothing else in the world and this book will make your little reader feel it to the core with its beautiful expression.

 

We at Snuggly Apps strongly believe that children should feel loved and verbalizing the strength of our connection and bond with them really helps make them feel more confident and secure which fosters the development of strong social emotional skills. This book achieves that and so much more..

 

Grab your copy here

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: April 07, 2021

A Day To Stay Home

 

Written by: Johanna Halley & Janae Seabloom

Illustrated by: Hannah Grace Smith

 Published by: Hannah Bloom Books

Such a fun imaginative book for your littles that lovingly reassures them that it’s okay to be home for a while. Encouraging them that it’s okay to seek adventure in the simplest of things inside the house. As much as our kids learn and grow from outdoor sensory experiences, it is just as important for them to workout the frontal cortex which is the hub of creativity and imagination for our little human beings. To raise creative and critical thinkers, we need to encourage more imaginative play in our homes so our kids can dream with their eyes open.

 

This is such a lovely book that emphasizes the importance of pretend play for kids. Pretend play is such a crucial part of growing up and is indispensable to their mental, social emotional and brain development. And this book does just that with its charmingly real life like illustrations. It is so comforting to read this book snuggled up with your littles subliminally telling them that on the days we can’t step out of the house, we still have options for fun and engaging indoor activities with lots of creativity and outside the box thinking. Such imaginative pretend play enriches young minds stretching the scope of their imaginations as they construct stories that flex their limbic systems and cognitive thinking.

 

Such a sweet book with its contextually relevant messaging in today’s pandemic stricken world. We at Snuggly Apps encourage pretend play for its enormous child behavioral benefits of teaching children to express themselves, consider other perspectives and foster dialogue, communication and linguistic development in their rapidly developing brains.

 

Grab your copy here

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: March 23, 2021

 

Luna Lucy & The Planets

Written by: Lisa Van Der Wielen

Illustrated by: Joseph Hopkins

This book is a keeper for your planet loving littles. With its cheery and delightful rhyming text, it transports the reader into space stirring up lucid, dream like imagination. The illustrations are spectacular and with their scintillating and vivid appeal, they take the reader on an outer space exploration adventure. The text is laden with fun facts about the different planets that Luna travels to, all presented in a fun and engaging manner.

 

This book is such an adventure, taking the reader on an escapade with the vivacious character of Luna and her dog Neptune. Be prepared to have your kids ask you lots of intriguing galaxy related questions after reading this story.  Such a great way to incite children’s imaginations and further their interest in space missions and galaxy exploration. This book enthralls its audience with its fun text and dazzling illustrations that leave the reader enchanted. Stay tuned for a super fun story time of this book on Snuggly Apps Youtube Channel soon!

 

Grab your copy here

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: March 10, 2021

cover.png

The Big Adventures of a Little Tree

 

Written by: Nadja Springer

Illustrated by: Tilia Rand-Bell

This book, its powerful imagery, deep message of friendship, teamwork, love, compassion and connection to your roots is sure to warm your heart. Its vividly imaginative story with exquisite and charming illustrations evoke so much emotion within the reader. This adventure story is about a tree that wishes to wander and explore the world to meet new people. There’s merriment, friendship, love and laughter until winter falls and the tree has to return to his roots. This is where all the children come together, working hard as a team to restore the tree to his origins.

 

The book exudes warmth, delightful and joyous celebration that transcends the text to liven and light up the reader’s heart. We thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and it somehow managed to transport me to its fictitious world of fun and frolic that left my mind drifting to the friendships I have made journeying through life and how they have left a lasting impact on me to this day, making me into the person I am today.  

 

Tree finds beautiful friends along his journey carrying a deep message of the power of teamwork and the magic of friendship. Your littles are sure to cherish this one and want to read it many times over.

Click here to grab your copy today.

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Feb 24, 2021

Something Lost Something Found

 

Written by: Natalia Paruzel-Gibson

Illustrated by: Laura Catrinella

Today I wish to dedicate a post to celebrating loved ones who are no longer amongst us. The ones whose love lingers in our hearts years after being separated from them. The warmth of love transcends space and time and this book I'm sharing today touches the tender topic of continuing to love them even after they are gone forever. People die but love doesn’t. Life changes but love doesn’t..

 

Our featured book this week is one that touches the heart and the raw feelings of someone grieving the loss of a loved one. This is such a soft, emotive story with heartwarming illustrations. The author takes the reader on a sentimental journey inside the heart and mind of a bereaving child. The character of Ella resonates with so many, tugging at our heart strings as all of us have experienced the gut wrenching numbness of having lost a loved one at some point in our lives. Ella tries hard to fill the gaping void in her heart as she misses her mom more with every passing day. The vivid descriptions transport the reader to Ella’s universe making them sympathize with her feeling her absymal emptiness along the way as she embarks on her quest to search for happiness again in the smallest and most innocent of things around her. But all in vain, Ella feels that her heart will never embrace happiness again and she aches to enliven herself only to find that happiness has been inside of her all along. She eventually finds comfort in the warmth of her mother’s memories that eventually lift her spirits and make her relive the cherished moments they shared with each other. These continue to warm, heal and comfort her heart by transporting her to the past and re-experience the traditions she shared with her mother and the fun times they had.

 

This book tells us it is okay to grieve and feel emptiness and that one can find comfort and healing in the cherished memories and blissful laughter shared with loved ones in the past. This book tells us there is hope after grief, sorrow and loss. The author uses enchanting story-telling to draw the reader into Ella’s journey as she emerges from her emotional odyssey with a healed heart able to feel the warmth of love and happiness again.

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Feb 14, 2021

 

Good Night Little Astronaut

Written by: Dr. Intergalactic of Ad Astra Media

Illustrated by: Visoeale

This is such a great book for your zealous, impassioned and aspiring little space enthusiasts. It helps build freedom, independence, exploration and intellectual curiosity in young readers, sparking their passion for STEAM learning early on in life. It inspires life-long learning in children, introducing them to the magical and enchanting world of science, technology, math, art and engineering using simple delightful text and charming illustrations. This is an endearing bed time picture book that teaches kids that space exploration needs patience and perseverance calling this field of study “the slowest race”. The book serves as a gateway to coax kids to start asking questions about space travel and exploration to train their minds early on. Children’s minds are constantly soaking up and learning from their external experiences and this book is a great way to start those conversations to stimulate their little minds to think beyond limits and social constructs.

 

The man behind this book, Dr. Intergalactic is pure genius. Dr Jose Morey of Ad Astra Media is “considered the first Intergalactic Doctor, a leader in exponential technology innovation and excels at leading multidisciplinary teams that sit at the epicenter of biotechnology, AI and aerospace.”

 

Dr. Morey founded Ad Astra Media in his relentless quest to “renew a faith in facts and reason and uplift underserved and minority communities by providing them with scientific role models in science, technology, engineering, art and math (STEAM) to which they can aspire.” Dr. Morey’s team is changing the world and little minds one book at a time. They are helping little ones grow and nurture their passion for learning. They have recognized that it is crucial to teach our kids early on about the value and power of hard work, determination and persistence as their young malleable minds are inordinately receptive to media exposure and experiences.

Learn more about Ad Astra Media at www.adastrasteammedia.com

This wonderful book is available in both English and Spanish and can be purchased here

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Feb 10, 2021

Whoever Heard of a Flying Bird

 

Written by: David Cunliffe 

Illustrated by: Ivan Barrera

This book is about a bird named Pip who lives a relaxed life on an island with her flock that happily eats old, overripe fruit off the ground. Pip however, is not willing to settle and has an urge to strive for more. Unlike her flock who don’t believe their type can fly off the ground, Pip is bent on getting a taste of the fruit tantalizingly perched up on the trees. Undeterred by failure and unscathed by the torrent of scornful mockery that is hurled at her by her complacent flock, Pip continues to try harder, each time more tenacious than before.

 

Pip is an epitome of determination, grit and courage who stays focused on her goals and fulfilling her dreams despite her flock’s derogatory remarks. Her character and fears are so humanlike and relatable as she at one point has a glimmer of self-doubt and questions her persistence and diligence. But she quickly shakes it off, not letting the disparaging voices crowd her mind or deflect her from her chosen task and mission. With beautifully rhyming prose and vibrantly scintillating illustrations, this book is a real gem that is sure to bedazzle all readers. 

 

Click here to purchase this book.

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Feb 03, 2021

Susie and the Dandelions

 

Written by: Ana Cybela 

Illustrated by: Anastasia Khmelevska

This is a touching story, written out of love and consideration of the big feelings and emotions of children from separated families. It is the story of a beautiful little girl named Susie who has to travel between her parents’ homes as they don’t live together anymore. She shares her big feelings about how she loves having two sets of everything but is also heartbroken about her parents’ differences. Susie then embarks on an enthralling imagination ride on a dandelion with a mission to make her dad love these flowers just like she does. The vivid yet dreamlike illustrations serve to transport the reader to Susie’s world that is filled with exquisitely enchanting dandelions interspersed through the book.

 

The book uses the analogy of dandelions powerfully yet so charmingly to explain how families that don’t live together still love each other; like the seeds of a dandelion flower leave the clock, flying off to distant lands. The seeds may seem apart but they are always connected to the dial of their parent flower and with the warmth of nurture, love and laughter, the seeds blossom into new dandelions. The author is delightfully captivating with her linguistic lacework while delivering a profound message to little readers. 

 

This book is literary genius and deserves a place in every home just to teach kids that together or not, families always stick together by the invisible bond of love, kinship and association that is unscathed by physical barriers and distances. As the author puts it beautifully, “life changes but love doesn’t..” 

 

Click here to purchase this book.

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Jan 27, 2021

The Gritty Little Lamb

 

Written by: Dan Allbaugh

Illustrated by: Anil Yap

What a great book with powerful messaging through brilliant rhyming word play. All kids love to win just like Lambie. It is a typical scenario in every toddler household. Let’s face it – it IS hard to lose. Lambie is so used to winning by hook or by crook that when he loses to his dad, he’s not ready to accept his defeat. That’s when his parents teach him valuable life lessons on how to deal with failure and disappointments. When life throws curve balls at us, the choice is ours to make – whether we persist and push through OR give up. Lambie then practices everyday which slowly helps him get better, more confident and make progress along the way.

It is a book about the power of resilience and perseverance. You practice everyday and learn what you don’t know with a positive growth mindset.

This book can help us raise children who are believers in making the impossible possible, simply by adding ‘yet’ to ‘I can’t do it’.

Click here to purchase this book.

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Jan 20, 2021

Anything I Dream

 

Written by: Ali Jensen 

Illustrated by: David Regone

This is one of our favorites from the super talented Ali Jensen at Knows No Bounds Books & Co. This picture board book makes such a great gift for a baby shower. With its cute illustrations and powerful message in bite sized rhyming sentences, it is a great book for infants and toddlers alike. It is a book about being who you wish to be and celebrating the fact that all jobs are important. It is to teach little children that they are free to be themselves and to follow their dreams.

Often times without realizing we subliminally put pressure on our kids associating prestige with and giving precedence to some professions as more noble than others. This book reminds us as parents to encourage our kids to be whoever they wish to be and find power in the profession they are passionate about. All jobs are important and we are all dependent on each other for survival, progress and growth. Together let’s raise a generation of children who are not shy of being  themselves and pursuing their dreams and passions.

Click here to purchase this book.

 

Reviewed by Sarah Waseem (CEO and Founder Snuggly Apps)

Published: Jan 13, 2021